alt-tag
Bonsecours, Basilika Notre-Dame
Eine neue Aristide-Cavaillé-Coll-Orgel für die Basilika Notre-Dame in Bonsecours nahe Rouen

Aristide Cavaillé-Coll lieferte im November 1857 ein zweimanualiges, 22-registriges Instrument (14 Stimmen im Haupt- werk sowie acht im Récit, bei nur angekoppeltem Pedal, aus Kostengründen ohne eigene Register) für die 1844 vollendete Basilika Notre-Dame in Bonsecours bei Rouen. Es wurde am 20. November 1857 durch Louis James Alfred Lefébure-Wély, dem Organisten der Madeleine in Paris, eingeweiht.

Die Orgel hatte einen Spielschrank und kam vollkommen ohne Barkerhebel aus. Ihr aufwendig gestalteter neogotischer Prospekt aus farbig gefaßter Eiche wurde nach einer Zeichnung des Père Arthur Martin erbaut und beherbergt die Basspfeifen von fünf Registern, nämlich von Montre 8’, Flûte harmonique 8’, Salicional 8’, Viole de Gambe 8’-16’ (deren erste Oktave ein 8’ ist) und von Prestant 4’. Für die Prospektpfeifen und Basstöne verwendete Cavaillé-Coll Kegelladen. Dieses Instruments war somit das erste bedeuten- de der Firma in der Gegend von Rouen.

1868 führte Cavaillé-Coll für 1000 Francs Wartungsarbeiten durch. 1879 schließlich baute er für weitere 7000 Francs ein selbstständiges Pedal mit vier Registern ein (Contrebasse 16’, Basse 8’, Bombarde 16’, Trompette 8’).

In den Jahren 1888-89 führte Cavaillé-Coll im Rahmen einer erneuten Wartung umfangreiche Maßnahmen durch, die dem Instrument von 1857 einen deutlich „symphonischeren“ Charakter verleihen, wie er ihn in seiner letzten Schaffens- periode favorisierte. Diese Arbeiten kosteten 8900 Francs:

- er vergrößerte den Schwellkasten, um seitlich drei weitere Register hinzufügen zu können,

- er führte eine Nachintonation durch und ließ Teile des Pfeifenwerks mit Expressionsschlitzen nachrüsten,

- er baute unterhalb der Orgelbank und in das (blinde) Rückpositivgehäuse eine Barkermaschine ein, sowie ein weiteres Manual als Koppelmanual.

Das Wiedereinweihungskonzert spielte am 7. November 1889 Charles-Marie Widor, der damalige Titularorganist von Saint-Sulpice in Paris.

Weitere Eingriffe erfolgten 1928 durch die Manufacture d’orgues Cavaillé-Coll-Mutin Auguste Convers & Cie und 1954 durch die Firma Beuchet-Debierre aus Nantes. Das Register Progression harmonique wurde in ein 4-faches Plein-jeu umgebaut und auf dem Hauptwerk eine Tierce hinzugefügt. Außerdem erhielt das Schwellwerk ein 4-faches Plein-jeu. Manual- und Pedalumfang wurden mittels pneumatischer Ansteuerung zusätzlicher Pfeifen auf 56 bzw. 30 Töne erweitert. Im Zuge der Arbeiten von 1954 nahm der Intonateur Jean Perroux Nachintona- tionen mehrerer Register vor. Marcel Dupré spielte das Einweihungskonzert.

Im September 1997 wurde die Orgel unter Denkmalschutz gestellt und 1999/2000 von der Manufacture Jean Renaud-Menoret restauriert. Die Intonation nahm die Manufacture d’orgues Lacorre et Robert vor. Das Lastenheft für diese Restaurierung sah eine Rückführung des Instruments auf den Cavaillé-Coll'schen Zustand von 1889 vor, bei gleichzeitiger Beibehaltung des Manual- und Pedalumfangs, was durch Einschieben der zusätzlichen Pfeifen auf den Windladen ermöglicht werden konnte.

alt-tag
Bonsecours, Basilique Notre-Dame
In November 1857 Aristide Cavaillé-Coll delivered a new instrument for the Neo Gothic basilica Notre-Dame of Bonsecours (1844) near Rouen

In November 1857 Aristide Cavaillé-Coll delivered an instrument with 22 stops on two manuals and pedal (14 on the GO, 8 in the Swell for the Neo Gothic basilica Notre-Dame of Bonsecours (built in 1844), with no independent Pedal stops, lack of resources) for the . The instrument was inaugurated by Louis James Alfred Lefébure-Wély, the organist of the Madeleine church in Paris, on November 20, 1857.

The organ had an attached console and no Barker machine. Its Neo Gothic polychrome oak front case, built after drawings of Father Arthur Martin, houses the lowest pipes of 5 stops on the front, the Montre 8’, the Flûte harmonique 8’, the Salicional 8’, the Viole de Gambe 8’-16’ (whose first octave is just 8’ length) and those of the Prestant 4’. For the front pipes and the basses, Cavaillé-Coll used cone valves. This organ was the first important opus of Cavaillé-Coll in the Rouen area.

Cavaillé-Coll proceeded to some maintenance work as early as 1868 for 1000 francs. In 1879, he added an independent pedal of 4 stops (Contre- basse 16’, Basse 8’, Bombarde 16’, Trompette 8’) for 7,000 francs.

In 1888-89, on the occasion of new maintenance work, he carried out important changes which lend to the instrument a more “symphonic” aesthetic, as Cavaillé-Coll conceived it in his last period of activity. At a cost of 8,900 francs

- he enlarged the swell box in order to have additional space for three more ranks, placed on the flanks on each side of the swellbox

- he reharmonized the whole organ by applying new expressive tuning slots to the pipework

- he added a Barker machine (placed under the organist's bench and in the false Positif case) and an additional keyboard to the console (1st manual), to serve just as a coupling keyboard.

Following this restoration, Charles-Marie Widor, then titular at the Saint-Sulpice church in Paris, gave the inaugural concert on November 7, 1889.

In 1928, the organbuilder Cavaillé-Coll Mutin (successor Auguste Convers & Cie) and later, in 1954, the organbuilder Beuchet-Debierre from Nantes, transformed the organ: the harmonic progression mixture was transformed into a Plein-jeu and a Tierce was added to the GO as well as a Plein-jeu of four ranks to the swell. The ranges of the keyboards and pedalboard were extended to 56 and accordingly 30 notes by the help of pneumatic motors disposed where the space allowed it. During the intervention of 1954, Jean Perroux had carried out an extensive reharmonization of several stops. Marcel Dupré gave the inauguration recital.

In September 1997, the organ was declared a historic monument. In 1999-2000, the organ was restored by the organbuilder Jean Renaud- Meno- ret. The harmonization was carried out by the Lacorre and Robert organ building company. The specification sheet, defined by the Higher Commission for Historic Monuments, presribed a return to the Cavaillé-Coll organ from 1889, maintaining the range of 56 notes for the keyboards and the 30 for the pedalboard which was realized this time by integrating the additional notes into the original windchest by intercalated engravings.